The Mederma Experiment

Untreated Scar

Untreated Scar

My family has a history of keloids. According to WebMD, keloids are:

[…] a scar that spreads beyond the boundary of the original injury and develops into a growth on its own.

The causes of keloids are not really known. Some methods of treating them are:

[..] cortisone injections, radiation therapy, pressure dressings, and silicone gel applications. Keloids can also be removed via traditional or laser surgery, though they can recur.

To treat my scars I decided to go with a more affordable alternative with Mederma. The gel should be applied 3-4 times per day on existing scars for 3-6 months according to the directions on the packaging.

The photograph above is of a small scar on the right side of my back that is a little over a year old. I will update you periodically with my progress (or lack thereof) while using the product.

Have you used Mederma? Let us know what your experience was in a comment below.

Glossy Kissez,

DRBrooklyn730

8 thoughts on “The Mederma Experiment

  1. No I have never used Mederma, and I really want to try it for a scar on my face. I have been to scared to try it , so I will be waiting for your review of this product.

    Like

  2. It’s your french subscriber again!It’s my first time on your blog and i saw your keloid scar problem.My boyfriend also has a scar on his scalp that developped and looks like what you have. It’s not a disease it’s just that your skin doesn’t heal correctly. Cistus essential oil is very good to help heal scars. You mix 2 drops of the essential oil with vegetable oil and rub your scar with it.Do it everyday during 2 weeks and hopefully it’ll heal. I also heard about Tea tree essential oil but i’ve never tried it so i can’t confirm its efficiency.If you have any questions you can mail me.
    Kisses

    Like

  3. It’s your french subscriber again!It’s my first time on your blog and i saw your keloid scar problem.My boyfriend has a scar on his scalp that developped and looks like what you have. Cistus essential oil is very good to help heal scars. You mix 2 drops of the essential oil with vegetable oil and rub your scar with it. Do it everyday during 2 weeks and hopefully it’ll heal. I also heard about Tea tree essential oil but he has never tried it.

    Like

  4. I’ve tried Maderma and it didn’t work for me. I was getting out of a bunkbed when I got a long cut on my thigh. I tried Maderma and it made it worse. I wish I would have stuck with my Neosporin. My skin color is that of MAC’s NC40, medium, I would say my thigh is a NC35, lol. But I ended up having to cover it with Full Coverage Foundation. It took about 3 years for it to completley go away. Now that I had a baby via c-section I got a keloid from it. I have been using RAW Pure Unrefined Shea Butter on it, keeps my skin soft and slowly fading away discolorations. I was so disappointed in Maderma for making my scar darker.

    Like

  5. I work for a board certified plastic surgeon

    Mederma is usually what he recommends to his patients BUT some of them experience an adverse reaction to the cream, like redness, itching and having it not help at all.

    For those patients, he recommends the Dr. Max Powers Scar Serum since it is organic and chemical free, which means its hypoallergetic. Most healthy people who do not want to use Mederma use the Dr. Max Scar Serum. If you have a reaction to Mederma, then discontinue use, and try the Dr. Max Powers Scar Serum

    Scars that are pink are still healing, so using sunscreen is also VERY important. Scars turn white when they have finished healing.

    Wishing you a smooth recovery! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

