Work It Out: Investing in Classic Black Pumps

Tory Burch

Hartley Pump

Color: Black (more colors available)

Retail Price: $295

I always talk about investing in timeless pieces that you will wear forever. For work and life in general, one of the those staples are a pair of black leather pumps. The Tory Burch pair pictured above are a modern take on a classic, featuring a rounded toe and seam detailing. But la pièce de résistance is the classic Manolo Blahnik Blixa pump:

Manolo Blahnik

Blixa

Color: Black

Retail Price: $575

Jimmy Choo makes a similar pump but I am not a fan of the heel of the shoe. I don’t like heels that taper and then flare out at the end again. Christian Louboutin (whose shoes I love!) also makes classic black leather pumps, but I find that that the red soles are a little to pretentious for work. The Manolos are just right for me. The price tag is steep but I have started a “Manolo fund,” which is what I am calling my savings for the shoes. The money spent will be well worth it in terms of the quality and construction of the shoe and the classic pointed toe will never go out of style. I also won’t have to worry about the heel coming off mid stride or walking down a flight of steps (the latter being spoken from experience). These shoes are not a splurge, they are an investment.

Glossy Kissez,

DRBrooklyn730

11 thoughts on “Work It Out: Investing in Classic Black Pumps

  1. I can always appreciate a pair of fantastic shoes, and both of these are gorgeous.

    I’m not much of a shoe expert, but I’ve heard that some higher end shoes are much more comfortable than their economical counter-parts. I’ve also heard people complain about Jimmy Choos hurting.

    What’s been your experience?

    Like

    • I haven’t had the opportunity to splurge yet but some high end shoes are uncomfortable. I have heard that about Jimmy Choos because usually the heel is very high and thin which probably isn’t very good for your back.

      Like

  2. Why such an expensive shoe? Isn’t a black leather pair from Nine West or some place at a similar mid price point as good a quality shoe? I’d rather buy some make-up, accessories or more clothes with that extra money. I know it’s about investing in quality items but a Nine West shoe seems like a good quality shoe to me. What do you think?

    Like

    • Nine West does make nice shoes but there is a significant difference in quality of the materials and attention to detail in a handmade high-end shoe. Sometimes the shoes are even cushioned to make them feel more comfortable like the Tory Burch pair. But there are some that just look pretty but hurt. Buying high-end shoes is a tradeoff between quality and quantity.

      Like

  3. “The money spent will be well worth it in terms of the quality and construction of the shoe and the classic pointed toe will never go out of style”- Very well said and on that note ..
    I definitely think you should buy the Manolos!

    ♥ You only live once, why not treat yourself ♥

    Like

  4. I just went window shopping today and saw a pair I liked now after this post I may consider it….

    What did you finally wear to the ball? smokey eye or red lip?

    Like

  5. I bought a pair of Cole Haan’s over the weekend for about $150 after tax. They’re really really simple and yes, I could have gotten something that looked just like it for $50 probably, but these are so comfortable! And hell, we all deserve to treat ourselves every now and then right? I’m not sure if I’m brave enough to spend over $500 yet though. But if you love it get it. I’m a firm believer in that! lol. And there’ a few pairs of Steve Madden shoes I saw over the weekend I will be going back for. Steve Madden is <3.

    Like

Leave a Reply

