Mid-Afternoon Break: April 30th, 2010

I don’t drink coffee, so why not blog?

I am sooo tired!  I don’t know why my body is not cooperating with me.  “Hello body, I am at work, please don’t shut down.”  I’ve made it a point to go to sleep early every night this week and yet no luck.  The earlier I go to sleep, the more dead I wake up.  The only thing keeping me going is listening to music on the Pandora Radio website.  It is really cool.  You type in the name of an artist or song and the site picks music that you may like based on the musical qualities of your selection.  My Usher radio station is my favorite.  Right now I’m listening to Melanie Fiona’s “It Kills Me.”  Love that song.  I don’t have that kind of drama in my life but I can’t help but sing along when the song comes on (right now I’m singing along on the inside, its casual friday at the office but not that casual ha ha ha).

Christina Aguilera’s new music video was released last night for the lead single of her upcoming album, Bionic, called “Not Myself Tonight.”  Perez Hilton and other warmongers on Twitter are giving birth over Christina allegedly copying Madonna and Lady Gaga.  Who cares?!  Who is truly original these days? Everyone is inspired/influenced by others. Next!  On a side note her makeup was looking great in the video.  Glossy red lips all around paired with an extreme cat eye, a blue twist on the classic pin-up look, and bold yellow lids.  And it looks like she is going back to her Xtina days, albeit a more polished version of those days.

I went to grab lunch at Schnipper’s today, which apparently was home of the Sloppy Joe battle on Food Network’s Throwdown with Bobby Flay.  I’ve never had a Sloppy Joe or most things with ground meat due to my mom’s phobia of the texture (this is coming from a woman who thinks goat brains are delicious, barf!).  I didn’t have that today, instead I opted for a Grilled Chicken sandwich with brie, arugula, plum tomatoes, red onion and herbed mayo with a side of french fries. Totally delicious but totally out of line with my diet.  I’ve been trying to cut down on the crap I eat but it always manages to creep in at least one meal throughout the day.

Today I am wearing a funky periwinkle/eggplant/pewter? leopard print cardigan from J. Crew, which is too small in the boob area as usual.  I have decided that the 3/4 sleeved cardigans from J. Crew are too boxy and don’t flatter my curves at all.  They have some really cute prints sometimes that I am a sucker for, but I will just have to hold back.  I paired today’s ill-fitting but cute printed cardi with a pair of dark blue genetic denim skinny jeans and simple patent leather flats from Steve Madden.  I’m not wearing any makeup today, I didn’t have time to do it this morning, I wasted my makeup time re-uploading my MAC Pret-A-Papier Haul, which refused to go live when I uploaded the video together with my MAC Art Supplies Haul.  I think YouTube is seriously competing with the MTA on my Most Loathed list. 

Anyways, time to get back to the daily grind.

Tchau!

5 thoughts on “Mid-Afternoon Break: April 30th, 2010

  1. I LOVE Pandora. And I have to agree with you on J.Crew’s 3/4 sleeve cardis. I have about 6 or so and while they are cute, they aren’t really cut right; too boxy like you say, and I’m tall and I don’t find them long enough for me (that didn’t stop me from buying them though!!). I was tempted by the new Featherweight Cotton Ruffle cardigan out right now but I held back, because of that issue.

    Like

  2. I hear you on the diet. I’ve been doing the Insanity workout and while I don’t have junk food as such, at some point a Starbucks latte or a smoothie, or a milkshake will appear before me 😦
    Must keep at it. fight those calories

    Like

  3. Pingback: Mid-Afternoon Break: May 6th, 2010 « Musings of a City Girl

Leave a Reply

