Musing of the Day: Dressing Like Kanye West

Kanye WestKanye West

@ 2011 CFDA awards

Recent reports of Kanye West working on a womenswear collection scheduled to debut on October 1st at Paris Fashion Week finally made sense of his recent affinity for women’s shirts, most notably a Celine iteration he wore while performing at Coachella this year—at least that is how I am rationalizing it.  I mean I have heard of “method acting” so one could attribute these choices to what I am calling “method designing.”  While I can’t pull off a casually unbuttoned blouse every day, I can get into what he wore to this year’s CFDA awards.

I would swap what look like Stubbs & Wootton navy slippers for a pair with a dash of leopard print.  Sam Edleman and Steven by Steven Madden are carrying similar styles, but my money is on Sam Edleman’s version with a padded footbed.  And have you seen the Alexander McQueen velvet loafers with the skulls?  Those would definitely be “ballerific.”

Luckily I already have the arm candy (I am officially on the layered bracelet bandwagon) plus the jeans and a white tee.  All that is left to complete my ode to Yeezy is a crisp white blazer instead of what appears to be ivory.  Kanye would not be proud if I did not make it my own.

P.S. I am still laughing at Kanye’s quote I saw on the Telegraph article about Lindsay Lohan’s brief stint at Ungaro: “Did you not see the Lindsay and Ungaro collection? That was 9/11 for celebrities doing fashion. After that I thought: ‘Well I can’t do a line now’. ”  Team Kanye forever! Ha ha ha.  Luckily he has gotten over the trauma.  I can’t wait to see images of his collection.  He better bring it!

Image Source: Kanye West at CFDA Awards, Alexander McQueen Loafers
2 thoughts on “Musing of the Day: Dressing Like Kanye West

Leave a Reply

