Vortex Professional Makeup Brushes with Belt Review

When I got into the YouTube beauty scene over 3 years ago, one of the first channels I subscribed to was MakeupbyRenRen.  I learned so much from her videos and my favorite thing about her channel were the makeup tutorials using bright and in your face colors.  We finally met at The Makeup Show NYC this year and she was as cool and down to earth in person as she is in her videos.  I was so proud and excited to hear about the new brush line she created with Sedona Lace and could not wait to try them.  The result was a set of affordable makeup brushes that covers the basics for a makeup artist or makeup lover.

Items included in the Vortex Professional Makeup Brushes with Belt:

Face

  • Jumbo Fan
  • Tulip Contour
  • Dome Contour
  • Flat Top Buffer

Eyes

  • Universal Blender
  • Flat Synthetic
  • Synthetic Blender
  • Pointed Crease
  • Brow Spoolie Duo
  • Bent Liner
  • Detailed Shader
  • Angled Detail

Lips

  • Capped Lip Brush

Accessory

  • Brush Belt

Greatest Hits

My favorite brush from the set is the Synthetic Blender Brush.  It is a smaller version of the Sephora Professional Airbrush Concealer brush I talked about in my Summer Beauty Obsessions video.  The size makes it even better for under eye concealer since I can get an even more precise application.  As a blending brush I find it to be helpful for blending in small areas.  Sometimes I want to blend my crease color and can get a little carried away with my larger brushes and ending up with color all the way up to the brow bone.  The size of this brush gives me a little more control with my blend.

The Brow Spoolie Duo comes in at a close second.  My fondness for spoolies is fairly recent.  I have found that spoolies do a better job than a brush for diffusing and blending heavy brow pencil or powder application.  The angled brow brush is also excellent because of its density and stiffness.  Some brow brushes can be so flimsy that they might as well be a liner brush.  I prefer a brow brush with some body to really deposit pigment in those areas that need extra depth and fullness.

The highlight of the Brush Belt for me is the slot for business cards.  Networking is very important especially for freelance artists who don’t know when the next job opportunity will present itself.  You never know who you are going to meet at your next gig that will need your services or can refer you to someone else.

Check out my video review for my thoughts on all of the brushes.

Price: $79.95

Availability: www.sedonalace.com.  Use the code “drbrooklyn730” for $4 off of your order.

Disclosure: The items in the review are c/o of Sedona Lace.  
I did not receive monetary compensation for this review.  
All opinions expressed are my own.
Leave a Reply

